Skip to content

Frugal Fridays – Finding Coupons

September 21, 2012

Welcome to Frugal Fridays, a series dedicated to ways I save money. If you have missed any part of the series, here are the links to the previous posts:

Saving Money with Coupons Part 1

Saving Money with Coupons Part 2

Taking Advantage of Free Picture Deals

Price Tracking and Stockpiling

In part 1 of my Saving Money with Coupons series, I described how I get the majority of my coupons from the Red Plum, Smart Source, P&G, and General Mills inserts in the newspaper each Sunday. However, there are a few other coupon sources you should be aware of if you are truly interested in saving real money using coupons.

1) On Products:

Make sure you check your product carefully because sometimes there are coupons right on the side of the box or inside.  For example, this box of Cheerios has an awesome Pampers coupons right on the back of the box. Score!

My family also loves Emerald Breakfast pouches and these boxes always have a great high value coupon on the box that I use to keep our stock filled.

2) In Magazines:

I will admit that I am a complete magazine junkie. I love them. I have a few subscriptions (that I get for dirt cheap) including Better Homes and Garden and the Rachael Ray Magazine.  These magazines, like many others, almost always have great coupons inside. So if you are a magazine reader like myself be sure to check through your magazines before you recycle them to snag your coupons. You also may be able to ask friends and family members to have their magazines before they discard them.  Once you rip out the coupon, make sure you file it away immediately in whatever organizational system you use to track your coupons. For me, the coupons go immediately into my coupon organizer or binder so I will not lose them!

3) At the Doctors Office:

This week I had A’s 9 week checkup with the doctor. As we were sitting in the waiting room, I spotted a pile of these brochures:

Sure enough there were several awesome coupons inside so I helped myself.

4) On the Internet:

I could write a very long post on the subject of whether to print or not to print your coupons online.  For now, I will just say this. I do print some coupons online – but only a few.  I have decided it is not worth the cost of ink and paper for me to print too many. However, there are certain items that I simply cannot find coupons for in the newspaper that we buy very regularly (such as Chobani greek yogurt and Gerber baby food).  However, these products do have electronic coupons so I will print them. So my advice is this – if you have a few products that you regularly buy and printing a few coupons would help you save money, go for it.

I have tried printing coupons at the library to save our ink but most coupon printing websites require that you install special software on to your computer before you print. The library computers will not allow this so this is not a super helpful process.

5) From the Manufacturer of the Product: 

Along the same lines as #4, if you really like to buy certain products, contact the manufacture and ask for coupons. Check their websites as there may be an easy form you can fill out to get on their mailing list.  Most companies are happy to send you coupons.  For example, I maintain a gluten-free lifestyle but sometimes eating gluten-free food can be very expensive. I have contacted a few gluten-free companies (such as Amys Kitchen) and asked for coupons. They have sent me some great coupons over the years.

6) From the Store:

Similar to tip #5, make sure you get yourself on store mailing lists as well. For example, Target sends out very high value store coupons that you can use.  I get them every few months in the mail.

This week I received the following packet of coupons from CVS for various baby-brands.

Both the Target coupons and CVS coupons are “store” coupons so they can be combined with manufacturer coupons. So, for example, if you have a $1.50 off Pampers coupons (from your Cheerios box above) and a $2.00 off Pampers CVS coupon, that is $3.50 off a pack of diapers. If you wait for diapers to go on sale at CVS, that can make for a very good deal on diapers!

Most websites make it pretty easy to sign up for their mailing lists.  Just check their websites for instructions.

When I receive store-only special coupons such as the Target ones or CVS coupons, I immediately file them in my coupon binder under their individual store tab so I do not lose them! As I have said before, organization is key otherwise it is easy to lose valuable coupons.

So there you have it – a few tips for finding coupons outside the Sunday newspaper.  Does anyone have any other ideas or suggestions on finding coupons?

Thanks for reading and have a great weekend!

~Kara

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 25, 2012 6:20 am

    great tips! I recently signed up for the CVS rewards card but havent gotten a coupon book in the mail. Do i have to sign up separately for that?

Leave a Reply

B @ H

Bliss at Home || Daring but lovely design & DIY

Momtog Blog

A new mom blogging about all things that inspire, encourage and otherwise make me happy

A new mom blogging about all things that inspire, encourage and otherwise make me happy

Design, Dining + Diapers

Design, Dining and Diapers

Young House Love

One Young Family + One Old House = Love

BachsByTheBeach

All About Baby, Home Decorating, Places & Spaces, Cooking & Baking. Welcome to Our Life In Charleston!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

